Photo from Rene A. Estremera, University of the Philippines Mindanao Public Relations Officer

DAVAO CITY, Philippines — The University of the Philippines Mindanao campus here announced it will adopt a four-day work week starting this July.

In a statement on Wednesday, Rene Estremera, public information officer said most of the offices will operate from 7:30 am to 6:30 pm, Tuesdays to Fridays, from July 3 to 31.

However, Estremera said some of their offices are exempted to the implementation of the four-day work week.

These offices include Accounting; Cash; Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs (OVCAA); School of Management (SOM); Physical Plant (PPO); and Extension and Community Service (OECS).

“These offices will continue to operate from Monday to Friday, from 8 AM to 5 PM,” Estremera said.

The offices that will adopt the four-day work week, but with extended hours, are the following: Office of the Chancellor (OC); Vice Chancellor for Administration (OVCA); all offices in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS) and College of Science and Mathematics (CSM); Budget; Campus Planning and Development (CPDO); Gender and Anti-Sexual Harassment (OGASH); Human Resource Development (HRDO); Legal; Library; Registrar (OUR); Research (OR); Student Affairs (OSA); Supply and Property Management (SPMO); and Technology Transfer and Business Development (TTBDO).

Estremera said offices will revert to its regular days of operation when classes for Academic Year 2017-2018 begin on August 3.

Urgent communication for these offices on Mondays may be directed through telephone number (082) 293-0016 local 113. (

comments powered by Disqus