Police Chief Supt. Joel Orduña, Deputy Regional Director for Adminstration, pins merit medals to eight members of the Police Regional Office 11 Explosive Ordnance Division during the flag ceremony held in Camp Sgt. Quintin Merecido Headquarters in Buhangin, Davao City. The eight police officers returned to Davao City from their month-long duty in Marawi City on October 24, 2017. (Photo from Police Regional Office 11)

DAVAO CITY, Philippines – Eight members of the bomb squad from the Police Regional Office 11 (PRO 11) received recognition after more than a month of duty in Marawi City.

The following officers received the “Medalya ng Kagalingan” during the flag ceremony at Camp Quintin Merecido on Monday, November 6:SPO3 Yolindo Ypon

• SPO3 Joel Mancia

• SPO3 Delson Pajota

• SPO1 Kevin King

• SPO1 Walter Melodias

• PO3 Jeffrey Magdirila

• PO2 Jhonmer Aclo

• PO2 Jose Raut

PRO11 spokesperson Chief Inspector Andrea Dela Cerna said the Medalya ng Kagalingan “is awarded to members of the PNP for a single act of heroism or a series of heroic acts in a duty responsibility.”

She said the eight police officials assisted in clearing the area from unexploded explosive ordnance and improvised explosive devices during their deployment which lasted for 1 month and 22 days.

The fighting in Marawi was declared over by Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana on October 23, six days following President Rodrigo Duterte’s declaration that the city is already liberated from terrorist influence.(davaotoday.com)

comments powered by Disqus