Rotaract Club provides assistance to Agdao schoolkids

Aug. 14, 2007

By Rose B. Palacio

The Rotaract Club of Munting Pag-asa Davao district 3860, a duly recognized and registered member of the Rotary International, a worldwide service organization known in 161 countries, has provided assistance to malnourished schoolchildren in Ubalde Elementary School along Agdao, Davao City.

With the signing of a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) on July 17, 2006 as part of the yearly celebration of Nutrition month, officers and members of the Munting Pag-asa started serving the elementary pupils with services such as Operation Timbang, deworming and food feeding in cooperation with the San Pedro College of Nursing. For this year, other health activities were undertaken to help the poor sector.

The Rataract program is in response to the call of the Arroyo administration for non-government organizations to help governments effort in providing health services and other facilities to enhance education in the countrysides.

Ronnie Joy dela Cruz of RC Munting Pag-asa said the club had adhered to the education departments Adopt a School program and the members involved themselves in uplifting the health of malnourished schoolchildren by adopting Ubalde ES as the clubs pet project.

The Adopt a school project of RC Munting Pag-asa is in partnership and coordination with the Rotaract Club of Kwai Chung, Hongkong, district 3450.

The RC Munting Pag-asa Davao district 3860 has been known for its various services for the underprivileged and poor sector of the city especially in outlying barangays where services of government could hardly be felt by the poor people.

The sustained endeavor of RC Munting Pag-asa Davao has proven its worth when it gained a successive five-year Outstanding Club among its various district clubs throughout the country since it was established in 2000-2005.

The MOA signing (in July 17, 2006) was led by RC Munting Pagasa president Ronnie Joy dela Cruz; Joe Marie dela Rosa; Ubalde ES guidance counselor; and Juliet dela Cruz, Grade VI teacher, Ubalde ESchool. Other members included Ralston Dangcalan; Mark Arquiza; Eugene Ang; Paul Co; William Ang; Arthur Lui; and Joanne Lim. (PIA XI Dispatch/rbpalacio)

comments powered by Disqus