Who’s who: 2 Davao councilors score perfect in attendance

Jan. 23, 2019

FILE PHOTO. Secretary to the Sangguniang Panlungsod, Charito Santos, bared on Tuesday the record of attendance of the Davao City Councilors in 2018. Councilors J. Melchor B. Quitain Jr. and Edgar P. Ibuyan, both from District 1, scored perfect attendance. (Robby Joy D. Salveron / davaotoday.com)

DAVAO CITY, Philippines — City Councilors J. Melchor B. Quitain Jr. and Edgar P. Ibuyan Jr. scored perfect in attendance in all 51 sessions conducted by the Sangguniang Panlungsod in 2018.

Both Quitain Jr. and Ibuyan Jr. had no records of tardiness, sick and vacation leaves as well as official absences in 2018, citing a report provided by Charito Santos, the secretary to the Sangguniang Panlungsod.

Santos said the two councilors have not missed any single sessions last 2017 which they completed the 33 sessions.

Of the 27 councilors, Marissa P. Salvador-Abella has the least attendance amongst them where she attended only 31 sessions out of 51 due to her participation in international conferences and seminars.

Santos said they could not impose limit on the number of leaves that a councilor can use because mostly are viewed as “official business.”

Some of the mandatory leaves that councilors can avail were domestic, emergency leave, birthday leave, mourning leave and special leave, among others.

“Councilors who have garnered three or four consecutive absences without valid reason has sanction provided by the law,” Santos stressed.

Meanwhile, below is the record of attendance of the Davao City Councilors from January to December 2018.

District 1

Acosta, Maria Belen – 36
Quitain, J. Melchor Jr. – 51
Ibuyan, Edgar Jr. – 51
Librado-Yap, Leah – 39
Militar, Bonifacio – 41
Abellera, Nilo Jr. – 40
Bonguyan-Quilos, Joanne – 33
Braga, Pilar – 45

District 2

Salvador-Abella, Marissa – 33
Bonguyan, Cherry Ann – 45
Alejandre, Al Ryan – 44
Dayanghiran, Danilo – 39
Apostol, Dante Sr. – 48
Dayap, April Marie – 37
Dureza, Jimmy – 43
Mahipus, Diosdado Angelo Sr. – 44

District 3

Dalodo-Ortiz, Avegayle – 42
Advincula, Victorio Jr. – 48
Zozobrado, Jesus Joseph III – 47
Principe-Castrodes, Antonette – 46
Villafuerte, Mary Joselle – 45
Baluran, Conrad – 48
Lopez, Rene Elias – 47
Clarion, Carmelo – 35

Sectoral Representatives

Ibuyan, Edgar Sr. – 15
Sudagar, Bai Halila – 34
Marohomsalic, Jaffar – 21

(Charwin Mae M. Salarda, HCDC Intern/davaotoday.com)

comments powered by Disqus