TAGUM CITY—The Region 11’s Davao Region Athletic Association has won gold in Basketball (Elementary Category) here Friday which was considered to be a first and a record breaking title since the organization joined the Palarong Pambansa.

The Davao Eagle dribblers has defeated its opponents—Region VI’s WVRAA and Region III’s CLRAA—placing each team as Second and Third place respectively.

Davraa’s Davao Eagles team was composed of elementary players namely: John Carl B. Aballe, Jaimes Cloyde R. Batoon, Aaron James C. Buensalida, Nico P. Cabalhin, Clint Justin P. Calamba, Askiah John P. Echavia, Benedict B. Llanes, Rommel S. Mercado Jr., Chucky P. Pacifico, Jose Pepito Jr., Stephen Jay A. Roferos, and Joshua S. Santiago.

Friday’s thrilling championship game was well-played by Davraa’s ace guard Nico Cabalhin who split a game-by a winning free throw over Western Visayas, 67-66.

An overtime win has yielded a good result, crowning them as the overall champion in Basketball for Elementary division.

“I am happy that I was able to shoot the ball during my free throw. That really helped our team to win,” says Cabilin.

In 2013, DAVRAA placed second with NMRAA declared as champion in Elementary Basketball championship games. Last year’s Palarong Pambansa in Laguna, Davraa has failed to win in the elimination rounds.

As of Friday afternoon, Davraa ranks 9th with 13 gold, 23 silver and 30 bronze medals. Poised to cover the overall champion for this year’s Palarong Pambansa is the NCR’s NCRAA with 98 gold, 67 silver and 71 bronze medals. (davaotoday.com)

comments powered by Disqus