DAVAO CITY, Philippines – President Rodrigo Duterte signed into law, Monday May 28, a bill converting the Davao Oriental State College of Science and Technology into a university.

The DOSCST is now named as Davao Oriental State University (DOrSU) under the Republic Act 11033.

The bill was authored by Davao Oriental 2nd district Rep. Joel Mayo Almario while Senator Joel Villanueva filed the Senate version.

This is in recognition of the school’s valuable role in producing professionals and experts who contributed to the advancement of the Davao region and the entire Mindanao, said President Duterte in his speech during the signing ceremony at Malacanang.

Duterte hoped that the newest university will continue to contribute to nation-building “by offering advanced technological instruction and [by] pursuing highly specialized research programs in various fields of science and technology.”

The Davao Oriental State University consists of the DOSCST located in Mati City and all of its existing satellite campuses in the municipalities of Banaybanay, Cateel, and San Isidro in Davao Oriental province. Its main campus will be the one located at Mati City.

The RA 11033 mandates the DOrSU to provide advanced education, higher technological, professional instruction and training in the fields of education, agricultural technology, agri-business management, business administration, industrial technology, arts and sciences, health sciences, information technology, engineering and among other relevant fields.

The university will provide undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate programs and short-term courses in these fields of study.

The institution was first established as a Mati Community College (MCC) in 1972 run by the local government and was converted into the Davao Oriental State College of Science and Technology in 1989 under Republic Act 6807.

DOrSU is the third state-run university located in the Davao region, along with the University of Southeastern Philippines (USEP) and the University of the Philippines Mindanao, both main campuses are located in Davao City. (davaotoday.com)

comments powered by Disqus