Satellite image as of February 12, 12:30pm (Courtesy of PAGASA)

DAVAO CITY, Philippines – Residents here on Monday, February 12, were told to prepare for a possible flooding similar to one brought by Tropical Storm Vinta in December last year.

“Severe rainfall in the nearby provinces is expected to cause swelling and overflowing of the Davao River system,” the Davao City Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office (DRRMO) said on the city government’s official Facebook page at 1:30 pm on Monday.

Heavy flooding is expected to within 24 to 48 hours after landfall, it added.

In a weather bulletin issued at 2pm by the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA), Tropical Storm (TS) Basyang (international name: Sanba) is expected to make a landfall in Caraga region on morning or afternoon of Tuesday, February 13.

TS Basyang has maintained its strength of up to 65km/h and gustiness of up to 80km/h, as it continues to approach the eastern seaboard of Mindanao.

PAGASA warned Visayas, Caraga, Northern Mindanao, Zamboanga Peninsula and the provinces of Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental Compostela Valley, North Cotabato, Maguindanao and Lanao del Sur to brace for a moderate to heavy rains for the next 24 hours.

The local government advised all barangay disaster response units to warn residents in danger zones and prepare for preemptive evacuations when necessary.

As of 5 am, the Davao Coast Guard Station issued an advisory suspending all island hopping trips around the Island Garden City of Samal.

Signal number 2 is raised in Surigao del Sur, while placed under Signal number 1, are:


– Dinagat Island
– Surigao del Norte
– Agusan del Norte
– Agusan del Sur
– Camiguin
– Compostela Valley
– Davao Oriental
– Davao del Norte
– Misamis Oriental
– Misamis Occidental
– Lanao del Norte
– Lanao del Sur
– Bukidnon
– Northern portion of Zamboanga del Norte
– Northern portion of Zamboanga del Sur


– Southern portion of Samar
– Southern portion of Eastern Samar
– Leyte
– Southern Leyte
– Bohol
– Cebu
– Negros Oriental
– Negros Occidental
– Siquijor


comments powered by Disqus