3 Vie for Davao Norte Governor

Mar. 31, 2007

TAGUM CITY—–Three candidates are vying for the gubernatorial seat in the province of Davao del Norte: the incumbent, a presidential secretary, and a doctor municipal mayor .

Aiming a shot at the top executive post of the province are Governor Gelacio P. Gementiza with a stage name as Yayong; Secretary Rodolfo P. del Rosario as Dolfo; and Mayor Jesus M. Gaviola as Jess.

Incumbent Governor Gementiza is running under the umbrella of the United Oppostion while Secretary del Rosario, the presidential assistant for New Government Center is running under Lakas-CMD.

Carmen Municipal Mayor Gaviola, a medical doctor by profession, is contending for the governor seat as independent

Davao del Norte incumbent vice governor Antonio Rafael G. del Rosario, who had earlier filed for the gubernatorial race, withdrew his candidacy as indicated in the Certified List of Candidates from the Commission on Election (COMELEC).

Running in tandem with del Rosario as vice governor is Victor R. Suaybaguio, Jr nicknamed Baby.

SP Board Member Shirley Belen R. Aala as Shirl, matches Suaybaguio for the second top executive position, running under KAMPI.

First district Congressman Arrel Rel R. Olao of Lakas-CMD wants to defend his post against Pantaleon Bebot D. Alvarez who vies for the congressional seat under the Nationalist Peoples Coalition (NPC)

Meanwhile, Lakas-CMD bet Antonio Anton F. Lagdameo Jr. and Rolando RollY A. Sta. Ana of KAMPI, will slug it out in second district of Davao del Norte.

Lakas-CMD tickets for Provincial Board Member seats are the following: (for 1st district) Antonio M. Lagunzad, Leopoldo A. Monteroso, Jose Recarido P. Monteroso, Macario A. Bermudez, Rogelio E. Israel; (for second district) Janet G. Gavina, Ely C. Cadalus, Gregorio S. Facula, Salvador R. Royo, Artemio V. San Juan.

Other Board Member seat contenders are ( for 1st district) Cesar B. Cuntapay under the United Opposition; Alfredo D. de Veyra, NPC; Virgilio C. Boiser, NPC; (2nd district) Jose J. Caf, KAMPI

Vying independently for a board member seat are Rolando R. Cadano (2nd District) and Rex Jasper A. Aala and Roger A. Laguna both of the 1st District. (PIA XI/JDAbangan)

comments powered by Disqus