SUDAGAR WINS. Photo: Ace R. Morandante/Davao Today

SUDAGAR WINS. Photo: John Rizle L. Saligumba/Davao Today

DAVAO CITY – Former Sangguniang Kabataan Federation president Halila Sudagar was officially declared as the new Indigenous People’s representative Wednesday.

The selection started around 2:00 in the afternoon Wednesday with only six aspirants as Datu Jafar Pandadagan of Brgy. San Rafael and Datu Bobby Mohammad of Brgy. Waan withdrew their candidacies.

A total of 382 Kagan Baraguwas from 22 Jamaahs who attended only 373 casted their votes (127 from District 1, 191 from District 2, 64 from District 3), while 2 ballots were declared invalid.

Sudagar got 147 votes. While former Waan Brgy. Captain Macapayao Apadan got 97; former Tigatto Brgy. Captain Lito Lapitan got 50 votes; Datu Larry Cabaguio of Brgy. Talomo got 47 votes;  Joel Bustamante got 28 votes and Janor  Balo got 2 votes.

Sudagar’s victory was sealed by the declaration of the Davao Provincial Office of the National Commission of Indigenous People (NCIP) and local government offices including the Office of City Administrator Melchor V. Quitain.

comments powered by Disqus