Presidential Peace Adviser Jesus Dureza updates the media on the peace process with the Bangsamoro and the National Democratic Front on Saturday in Davao City. (Zea Io Ming C. Capistrano/davaotoday.com)

DAVAO CITY, Philippines — Presidential Peace Adviser Secretary Jesus Dureza said three of the 10 slots for the government in the new Bangsamoro Transition Commission will be given to the faction of the Moro National Liberation Front led by former Cotabato City Mayor Muslimin Sema.
During the media training, Reporting the Peace Process organized by Mindanews and the Embassy of Canada on Saturday here,Dureza said they will nominate seven others to the BTC who will each come from the Autonomous Region on Muslim Mindanao, Marawi, a Sultanate, a Christian settler in the Bangsamoro territory, indigenous people and youth sector.

The Moro Islamic Liberation Front, which heads the BTC, will nominate 11 other members.

Dureza said ARMM Governor Mujiv Hataman has already submitted a name for the representative from ARMM.

He said they are planning to hand over more than 10 names to President Rodrigo Duterte, who will appoint the members of the BTC, to give him choices.

The number of the members of the BTC was increased from 15 to 21 during the first meeting of the implementing panels in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in August this year.

Dureza said the increase in membership is also aimed at making the peace process “more inclusive”.

The BTC is tasked to draft the enabling law that will result to a Bangsamoro government if approved by Congress.

The government will also be engaging with MNLF founder Nur Misuari.(davaotoday.com)

comments powered by Disqus