26th ASEAN Summit concludes

Apr. 29, 2015

DAVAO CITY – The 26th Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Summit in Malaysia concluded on Monday evening with the adoption of three declarations by the regional leaders.

At the conclusion of the summit in Langkawi, President Benigno S. Aquino III and his fellow Southeast Asian leaders adopted three declarations: the ‘Kuala Lumpur Declaration on a People-Oriented, People-Centered ASEAN’, the ‘Langkawi Declaration on the Global Movement of Moderates’, and the ‘Declaration on Institutionalizing the Resilience of ASEAN and its Communities and Peoples to Disasters and Climate Change’.

Under the first declaration, the Southeast Asian leaders pledged to continue establishing a people-oriented, people-centered and rules-based ASEAN community, while under the declaration on the global movement of moderates, the leaders agreed to strengthen ASEAN unity and solidarity and its central role in maintaining and promoting peace, stability and prosperity in the region.

Meanwhile, under the declaration on institutionalizing the resilience of the bloc to disasters and climate change, the leaders committed to strengthen resilience by reducing existing disaster and climate-related risks.

This year’s summit was held in Kuala Lumpur and Langkawi, Malaysia from April 26 to 28 with the theme “Our People, Our Community, Our Vision”.

The 10 ASEAN member states include Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, and the Philippines.

comments powered by Disqus